he had to go someplace else and leave his friends.

I hadn’t gone to that blog in a long time and I forgot that it existed.  There are some changes in the way they do the paperwork for the non-citizens living in the country, and so he is going to have  to keep temporarily living there and then periodically leaving and then coming back, in order to comply with the bureaucracy.

He is trying to make it sound like a positive thing but it sounds very painful to me.  He also moved out of the city where he knew a lot of people and he says he’s in the process of making new friends where he lives now.  But that means he had to tear himself away from all of those people he knew, and of course, they’ll still be ‘friends,’ but not able to see each other all the time.  And again he acted like he’s trying to be positive and optimistic about making new friends, but he has to be in pain.

He bought land and is renovating a house, if I understand correctly.  (eh, building one – I looked again.) They are living in a place farther away from the city, next to the shore.

He will have to keep temporarily living in one place, and then temporarily moving to another place.  And at the same time, he is trying to settle down by buying land.  I don’t know when he is going to be ready to have children.

He said he is doing his work over the net.  I’m not sure what kind of work he’s doing, but that made me wonder if he’s doing translations again, and he said he hated that.  It’s probably something else.

So everything that I saw looked like pain and grief and hard decisions and doing things he didn’t want to do, but had to, because of the laws, and because of needing to settle down away from the city.  I hadn’t been reading that blog in a long time.

Leave a comment