money buys happiness; musing on various things, more racism and anti-homelessism.

1:22 PM 7/29/2017

Money does buy happiness, unless you’re a fucking idiot.

If you get money, and you decide to spend that money on giant parties with cocaine and whatever else, and the money is gone in a month, and you have to go right back to being a slave at your local McDonald’s afterwards, then no, money does not buy happiness.

I can cite the study that said that people who made more than a particular finite amount actually were happier, and that amount was something like $60,000 a year in that particular study.

People who have a real community and real family are happier. If they have actual support from the people around them, even if they live as hunter-gatherers, their quality of life is better.

People in North Korea say they were happy. Some North Koreans who escaped and started living as a modern slave laborer in South Korea said they became suicidal because life was no longer worth living. When I say ‘modern slave laborer’ I am referring to the lifestyle that other people call ‘freedom.’ You work at a ‘job’ and you get paid ‘money’ and you pay money to ‘rent’ a piece of land that you live on. You never know who your neighbors are, and you’re lucky if you even get to have one single child at all, because the costs of living are so high that you can barely even feed yourself.

Meanwhile, Arctic hunter-gatherers wear animal furs that cost thousands upon thousdands of dollars (if they had bought them), and have dozens of children. Apparently hunter-gatherers are much wealthier than the typical modern slave.

I’m waiting for my phones to charge, and then I’ll have to go use the wifi someplace.

It rained and rained and rained yesterday, and we got flood warnings. The government hacked my telephones and made them do loud beeps, and gave me text messages. I was sitting in front of the library eating my food from the restaurant, and didn’t understand where the loud emergency beeps were coming from. They were inside my backpack.

Money – back to the subject of money. I *know* exactly how lucky I am. I do know. There are other homeless people, and I almost always dislike them. They’re not like me. I really wonder if they are just another personality type – from some other socionic quadra. Almost inevitably, I find other homeless people to be very annoying.

There was one guy, named Kael – he became a facebook friend – I typed him ESFP – he was a beautiful angel, a gorgeous young guy with long hair. We talked for a while at McDonald’s, and he was very attentive, deep, intelligent, observant, accepting, and understanding (no, that doesn’t mean he was my dual – I can appreciate my socionic mirage relation as well).

I didn’t fall in love with him! He was wonderful, he was beautiful, he was sweet, he was gorgeous, he was intelligent, he had long hair, and I even hugged him a couple times during that time period when I met him at the McD on the other side of town.

He had been camping out, too, and he got caught and got in trouble. His camp was even more exposed than mine. I got the impression from what he said that he merely had a hammock and nothing else, so he was open to the rain – no shelter at all. He was the only homeless guy I ever liked and/or did not strongly dislike. And every once in a while, if I think of him, I just check his facebook page and see if he’s done anything new. He’s not around here anymore. He actually went to a Buddhist monastery or something like that.

But almost all of the homeless people I encounter are rude, angry people. Some of them do things that are annoying and entitled. I just read a comment on the ENFP forum the other day from someone who said that a homeless guy came into her restaurant and wanted to use the bathroom, but they said it was only for customers. So he ordered a glass of water (free), and then while they were getting it for him he jumped up and went to the bathroom. Then when they complained to them he called them racist or something. What she actually said was, he said ‘I’m black, so I’m superior to you,’ or something like that, and I’m trying to recall exactly what she said. He might not have used those words.

I don’t behave that way when I’m homeless. I don’t go around breaking the rules and demanding that other people break them for me. When I’ve used food stamps, I don’t push people to secretly help me buy things that I’m not allowed to buy with food stamps. One annoying guy who was coming into Minit Mart was using food stamps, and he observed that there was no actual connection between the place where you swipe the food stamps and where you ring up the food on the cash register. He kept asking about it and wondering if he could just buy anything he wanted and pay for it with the food stamps. Technically, you can, but it requires the clerk to knowingly do something they know they’re not supposed to do, which has to make them uncomfortable – I myself do not like breaking rules, even if the rules might be kind of stupid. I don’t like to just blindly ignore the rules or openly defy them.

When I’m using food stamps, I don’t even try to buy hot food with them. I just buy what I’m supposed to buy and I don’t complain.

Although technically I know I would piss people off because I buy organic food. They think organic food is absolutely nothing but a scam. It isn’t. I have good reasons why I buy it. But it isn’t against the rules. It’s just something people sometimes complain about in articles on the internet. Oh, woe is me, I saw a food stamp user buying lobster with food stamps! That kind of thing.

You should be unhappier if they are buying soda and malnourishing food. But these people have no concept of nutrition, and so they think food stamp users should strike a balance between expensive food and total junk food – they should buy, for instance, canned
vegetables. That’s where they show their total ignorance of nutrition. Canned vegetables are about the equivalent of Coca-Cola in their nutritional value.

So I’m aware that there are people out there who believe I’m supposed to be buying nothing but canned vegetables to maximize the amount of food I can get on food stamps. But it isn’t an official rule.

Anyway, when I’m homeless, I’m respectful. I don’t violate places that people don’t want me to violate (except by living in the woods, where I stay as invisible as I can). I don’t barge into a restaurant and demand to use their bathroom when they clearly don’t want me to, and then call them a racist when they get annoyed with me. I just find *other* bathrooms to go to!

The only way I could ever call anyone a racist was if I were surrounded by Asians, who are much faster than I am in their thoughts and speech. I would seem like a slow, stupid person to them, a person who was lacking any deep insights and lacking any detailed
observations.

The racists downplay the degree of difference between Europeans and Asians. Their websites say that the IQ difference between an Asian and European isn’t that big. However, there are other differences that are not merely measured by IQ points, and those areas are very different. Speed of speech and thought isn’t accounted for in the IQ test. Detailed nuances, having a whole lot to say about a very small topic – finding one tiny topic, then opening it up to thousands upon thousands of new insights, expanding it and unfolding it – when I read things written by Asians I can tell it is a different writing style.

If I have anything negative to say about Asians, I might think that they are more cruel to animals than Europeans. That might be a general trend. Also, I can’t explain why the parts of Asia that were controlled by Britain are better places to live, if white people are inferior in *every* way. We might have, or rather, I can’t even say that – Hitler was white, and the Nazis were all violent dictators – what Asian countries ruled by Asians are good places to live? Singapore is or was ruled by Britain.

It’s very unlikely that I’ll ever have even one single child. I would consider mixing races with almost any race except Africans – I really, really have disliked Africans my entire life, even without anybody ‘teaching’ me to be a racist. I just didn’t start openly saying so until recent years. And that doesn’t mean that I believe in genocidally destroying them. But I sincerely want to avoid living in a location that has a lot of black people.

My coworker at MM is black and he’s a hard worker – he works much more than I do. He’s actually doing his job. One day, a particular guy who always comes in – we know him by name – joked to the black guy, ‘Don’t just do something, sit there!’ because he was sitting down at the table, after having done *all* the work the whole time from the beginning. He was *finally* sitting down. I jumped on this immediately and defended him. I said he was a lifesaver and that I’m the one who isn’t doing any work, and he did all the work, and if he hadn’t been here nothing would’ve gotten done.

He also isn’t giving me any sexual vibes, which I am thankful for.

But guess what, he has even more trouble counting than I do, doing mental calculations in a high-pressure situation. I can’t do mental math because my brain is being zapped every couple seconds, so all the numbers I’m trying to use just keep vanishing. People think I’m stupid for not being able to do mental math. Well, this guy is even worse at mental math and worse at counting than I am, so I help him when necessary.

I no longer have wifi at this laundromat. Monte Carlo Pizza finally moved. They were forced to move because they were told that this building would be demolished, but they’re postponing demolishing it, so Monte Carlo was in limbo for a really long time, living at two different places and paying two different rents. They remained in business here by the laundromat but also paid rent at the place they were planning to move to. Finally they gave up and moved, during the last couple months when I wasn’t here, when I was in the apartment. They had still been here when I was last camping.

So I can’t use their wifi now. I’m plugging things in and charging them, but will have to go to Burger King to use the wifi.

Then I will check my email and see what the RV lady said.

Money buys happiness, and I know it. I was talking about that. I have had nothing but recurring disasters for all these years, and haven’t even been able to save a pathetic amount like $2,000. That is how bad it’s been. I can’t even do the things that would permanently improve my life, like buy an RV, due to this total absence of money.

Would I help other homeless people buy an RV? Would I help them transition into an independent off-the-grid lifestyle where it wouldn’t cost so much to live? That’s why I was talking about how I dislike most homeless people. They don’t think the way I do. They might not understand what I’m getting at, the concept, that you have to live off-the-grid, live independently, live in a frugal way, but live without the amenities that other people take for granted, and do it in a location where you’re allowed to do it. I would have to communicate with each person individually to find out the reasons why they are homeless, why they are sick, why they are tired, why they are malnourished, why they are hopeless, why they are unmotivated. Every person has their own reasons for why they are where they are.

Nobody understands the homeless, and this annoys me. Homelessness isn’t just something that ‘happens.’ There is never anything that merely just happens for no reason. There’s a cause. Why does someone keep losing their jobs? Because that person has severe mental disabilities that make them unable to do even the simplest tasks. I know someone like that – her name is Jessica, and she’s black. She worked at McD with me for a while, and she could not count money.

She said she’s been taking sleeping pills ever since infancy, and the sleeping pills have affected her brain. Now she’s having babies with a white guy, who also is a bit weird – he seems to have facial tics, which are most likely the result of prescription drugs. He blinks his eyes a lot and really noticeably, and grimaces. She was forced to give up her baby for adoption because she had been involuntarily committed to a mental hospital and the ‘child protective services’ (the ones who kidnap children and sell them into sex slavery) decided she was unfit to be a mother.

Homelessness isn’t just something that happens. But also,
hunter-gatherers aren’t homeless. They don’t get kicked out of their houses for failure to pay the bills. However, primitive people might let disabled people die – but there aren’t as many disabled people, because healthy diets are universal in primitive societies, and they don’t develop Weston Price deformities or vaccination disease. Don’t point to the rampant deformities and diseases of a couple hundred years ago – those weren’t in primitive hunter gatherer societies. Those were in societies that were receiving white flour, alcohol, tobacco, sugar, and everything else from the white people.

I really hope I get this RV. It’s a small one. But I won’t be getting just one. I most likely will have more than one RV over time, and will use them for different purposes. It’s just hard to get out there to Williamsport where this lady is. I would have to rent a car, then drop it off in Williamsport, if I were going to drive home in the RV. I don’t have a set-in-stone agreement with her yet, and don’t have a date and time to be there. I’d like to be in West Virginia on August 2nd though. My brother will be there with my dad.

I guess I will go online and check everything, which means I have to unplug the phones even though they’re not quite done charging, and go to Burger King to use the wifi.

Would I help other homeless people? It depends. It depends on whether I can make them see the same vision that I have. I do have a vision. I have a vision of what should be done. I have a vision of what I want to be done. If I can communicate this vision to them, if they can share it and see it with me, then I might be able to help them. But if they still value the mainstream world, I cannot help them.

6 Responses to “money buys happiness; musing on various things, more racism and anti-homelessism.”

  1. nebbie916 Says:

    So how do you care for intact cats of both sexes (male and female) without ending up with kittens?

  2. Nicole Says:

    I myself am planning on having cats that are either completely or almost feral. That would only be if I owned land with a wooded area. Other than that, I’m not really planning on getting cats. If I had a female I would keep her indoors, if I happened to have a female cat while living in an urban area. I only happened to end up with two cats just because the person who was moving out said she was taking them to the shelter because she wanted to get rid of them. She was just a really irresponsible person and wasn’t capable of taking care of animals at all – the landlady told me she had gotten a dog and wasn’t taking care of it, and was keeping it locked in the room by itself, and other things – and I couldn’t say no to them after seeing them in person. One of them happened to be an intact male, which is what led me to a bunch of conflicts with the landlady later on – she made a big deal out of things that I thought weren’t that bad, like scent spraying. Yes, it’s a minor nuisance, but it doesn’t justify neutering them at all – just cat-proof the house, put some cardboard around the base of the chairs or whatever, or keep them outdoors, albeit with a shelter. I did something which was similar to the parenting method that I can’t remember the name of – there’s an acronym for it – it’s like ‘bathroom awareness’ or something. Where the parent just pays attention to the signals that the child needs to use the bathroom. Elimination awareness or something. I did that with Max. I observed that he needed to spray as though it was a buildup of something, just like urine. He *had* to do it. It wasn’t just something he did ‘to be annoying’ or ‘because it was instinctive’ or ‘because he was claiming his territory.’ It was analogous to urinating or defecating. So I would carry him outside as fast as I could when he would finish eating his food. It was always after eating that he would start to walk around spraying things. Anyway, all of that was just because I happened to accept these cats from the girl who was leaving. But I don’t intentionally plan to get more cats, until and unless I get some wooded rural land to live on. I don’t want to keep cats in an urban area. So they would be almost entirely on their own outdoors, almost feral, and I wouldn’t be caring for them at all, although I’m sure I would put out some food for them and maybe give them a shelter. I wouldn’t even see them when they were living their lives or having kittens. They would just do that out in the woods. But meanwhile, that means they would also be getting eaten by predators.

  3. nebbie916 Says:

    The acronym is EC and it stands for Elimination Communication. EC is being attuned to a baby’s need to pee or poop and respecting baby’s instinct to not soil him/herself. Despite what American culture has been brainwashed into thinking, babies and toddlers are not incontinent. When baby needs to “go,” you provide a bucket or potty or position them over a sink or toilet so that they can “go” without soiling themselves. Diapers can be used for backup, but there is no dependence on them in elimination communication. ECing is the natural way of attending to a baby’s bathroom needs and it was practiced throughout almost all of the history of the human species. It’s still widespread in non-Western countries and countries like India and China. That and breastfeeding go hand-in-hand with babywearing because the latter makes it easier to be aware of your baby’s feeding and bathroom needs. ECed babies often learn to be toilet independent at ages 1 to 1 1/2, earlier than diaper-dependent babies, who learn to be toilet independent between ages 2 and 3 and often aren’t completely toilet independent until 3 or even later.

    A Culture in Diapers: http://www.goddessunplugged.com/articles/diapers.htm

    Diaper Free Baby: http://diaperfreebaby.org/

    Born Potty Trained: http://www.bornpottytrained.com/

    EC Peesy: https://www.ecpeesy.com/blog/

    godiaperfree: http://godiaperfree.com/

    Tribal Baby: http://tribalbaby.org/

    Tribal Baby focuses on gentle parenting methods including Baby-Led Introduction to Solids, Breastfeeding, Sleep Sharing, Hypnosis for Birth, and Elimination Communication.

  4. nebbie916 Says:

    Also, do you have a Facebook account?

  5. Nicole Says:

    Yeah, I’m on facebook – I’m already in your group actually. I just haven’t posted.

  6. nebbie916 Says:

    I made up a new group as a sister group to that cat focused one? It’s called Upholding the Right to Bodily Autonomy of Animals and People Group.

    Upholding the Right to Bodily Autonomy of Animals and People Group: https://m.facebook.com/groups/336056786819995?view=group

Leave a Reply

