1980s toys

I forget what got me thinking about this, but I was remembering old toys. I had this wrinkle dog puppet that I used to play with at Rachael’s house. I would use it to talk to her adopted brother Cyrus. His voice sounded like Grover, and he was hyperactive and annoying, but Cyrus seemed to love him. I called him ‘Wrinkly.’ Or ‘Wrinkles.’ Something generic. Maybe the female was Wrinkly and the male was Wrinkles. For some reason I tended to operate the male one more often and I felt more comfortable with a masculine alter ego. I also had a lot of boy toys, like lizards and dinosaurs and monsters, although I also had girl toys, like My Little Ponies, and they sometimes got into wars with each other.

Really, none of that stuff mattered, although I do have nostalgic memories of it. I did really enjoy it if my brother and I played some kind of elaborate storyline, but that didn’t happen very often. We ran out of ideas as we got older, and we both observed that we were ‘losing our creativity,’ the result of the brain changing. I remember we played with Fabuland animals – they went time traveling and got ‘stuck in the glue of time,’ and had to be rescued. This was an epic storyline. I don’t know how we got that idea. I forget how we found them and how we rescued them. When Honey Bunny (or ‘Bonny Bunny’) got mad, she would say ‘Mad mad mad mad MAD!!!!’ and she would turn into the gigantic stuffed pink bunny, and go on a rampage, destroying everything.

But yes, none of it mattered – if I had grown up without any modern plastic toys, I still would have had a happy childhood, if I had had other things that mattered, such as a whole bunch of brothers and sisters, or a life on the farm. In the old days, children played outside with other children, and it didn’t matter at all if you had cool toys or not. Having adventures with other children, and especially, being with kids who had a good imagination and good ideas, that was what mattered.

Leave a Reply

