translating sociocracy from the ESTJ into the ISTP’s way of thinking

5:08 AM 3/23/2017

I have this concept with Anaya, where every house of the socion governs itself. This is only one concept of an experimental community. I actually have several ideas of how the community would be designed, and can’t settle on just one design.

I was watching Diana Leafe Christian talking about sociocracy in videos. One thing she started talking about was performance reviews, and I started watching other videos about that. I’ve experienced that at McDonald’s.

We had them, but they weren’t very useful to me – but that wasn’t sociocracy, and you can’t make sociocracy work without the whole system, so I’m not claiming that sociocracy doesn’t work, I’m claiming that the way McD does things doesn’t work.

My reaction to a performance review – I was watching skits of people getting ready for their performance reviews at work, and I remembered my feelings. I always felt helplessness. My goal is to translate all of this to the 8th house of the socion, Gabin and Huxley, and how they see things and do things, so all of this is going to be accepted as legitimate. My immediate feeling was a desire to defend myself by explaining that I wasn’t able to do anything because of problems in my personal life that were outside my control, such as sickness and fatigue. I also had problems in the workplace that were outside my control, and an overwhelming feeling of helplessness in the workplace, where I simply could never *give* any feedback and have anybody listen to it or give a damn.

Positive-minded people don’t like to hear ‘excuses’ for why something can’t be done, but my goal is to translate everything Diana Leafe Christian says, as an ESTJ in the 7th house of the socion (my ‘houses’ are groups of the two duals), into something that works for the 8th house, my own house. It has to be changed from judger to perceiver.

What is sociocracy, translated into the language of an ISTP, into the world of the ISTP, when it originated as ESTJ? The reason why I want the houses to each govern themselves is because we have unfair and unequal representation in government if we do not have people of all 16 types in government. I don’t think I’ve *ever* seen an ISTP president. People have typed Abraham Lincoln as ENFP, and somebody else typed Mao Zedong as ENFP (this is not necessarily something to be proud of), but otherwise, we don’t see many of them in office either, so we have a world which is biased in favor of all the other types who do commonly become presidents.

I can’t improve my performance because of factors beyond my control; my personal life is the problem, my physical health is the problem; don’t judge me based on those things. I need my entire life to be fixed in order to improve my performance. That is my reaction to getting a performance review. I cannot make myself care about my job in workplaces where I am unable to *give* feedback and have anybody respond to it.

Also, I never agree with the overall aims of the corporation that I am working for, regardless of where I work. This is something else that relates to sociocracy. The overall leader or owner of the group decides what its aims are. We work at this job because we have to have a job, not because we agree with their aims, and in fact, we might outright disapprove of their aims. We already know from experience that there is *nowhere* that we agree with the aims of the leaders – no job, anywhere, has leaders who are like-minded with us. So we always work at jobs where we strongly disagree about many of the overall aims of the corporation.

Sociocracy has to ignore this fact. Sociocracy says it’s about what you, as the worker, need *in the context* of your job. Regardless of how you personally feel about your job, you’re supposed to talk about what you need in order to do your job. You have to set aside your own personal feelings and beliefs, and go along with the aims of the corporation, and talk about what you need to help them accomplish those aims. Sociocracy is about that – but I am saying that this is important, that you have to agree with the overall aims. In an intentional community you might, but not in a workplace.

Also, the aim of the landowner is always ‘to pay the rent and taxes and mortgage on this land.’ That is never your aim, because you are not the landowner. So you cannot help them with that aim and you cannot care about that aim. My goal, as the worker, is to help the corporation earn enough revenue to pay for this piece of land that this building is sitting on. It’s not my land and it never will be. I can’t really care about paying for this land. That will always be someone else’s goal, not mine. Our whole purpose is to buy and sell things in such a way that we can afford the expense of sitting here on this piece of land.

I know this sounds incoherent – I’m reacting to some of the things I watched in videos or read on web pages, and I haven’t explained any of those things. I’m trying to learn about sociocracy. I want to translate it into my own socionic type’s information elements. What would sociocracy be like if it were devised by an ISTP instead of an ESTJ?

Leave a Reply

