Intentional communities again – Diana Leafe Christian

Talking to my future roommate, assuming nothing changes between now and the future for some reason – made me start getting into the community mindset again. I remember something I read, back when I was reading about the enneagram (which I no longer use, for a lot of reasons), about how people with a strong social instinct can manifest it in two opposite ways, by being overtly social, or by being extremely antisocial because they have a strong opinion of what they want from society and they’re not getting it. I’m in the antisocial group. I do actually have a very strong opinion of what society ought to be like, which is one reason why I’m interested in things like the underground ‘intraterrestrial’ civilizations.

I have to accommodate my roommate’s preferences, which is not really easy to do. I don’t know what all of them will be in advance. They are unpredictable and complex. This always happens when you go live with somebody. I learned that in college. Even within the same ‘American’ culture, when I went and lived in a room with other Americans, our cultures were so drastically different sometimes that we drove each other crazy. Other people do strange, unpredictable, unthinkable things that would just never occur to you to do, just because that’s how they were raised and it was normal for them and their family.

So, one common example is whether you think it’s okay to share food in the fridge or not. I am extremely anti-sharing, and I tightly enclose all my food items into one tiny shelf, which is clearly ‘mine,’ and I feel violated and annoyed if somebody else puts their stuff into my shelf space. It is absolutely unthinkable for me to take someone else’s food unless they have explicitly and repeatedly told me it’s okay – when I lived at the Youngs’ house, they told me I could drink the milk and a few other things, but I didn’t take a lot because I wasn’t helping to replace it. If I were buying it once in a while, I would. But my preferences for milk are different – I want organic, preferably grassfed, and preferably raw except that requires long distance driving in a car and I can’t do that easily. I at least get organic at the store, and whole, not skim or 2%.

I started looking at Diana Leafe Christian’s work and thinking about intentional communities again. This is really what we need. It gives me hope for the future, and it is the *only* thing that gives me hope for the future, not just my own individual future, but society. Society is horrible and completely out of our control, but if we build small intentional communities and intentional societies and
intentional religions that we can control and construct and design deliberately to be different from mainstream society, that is the only way to fix things. We can’t fix it by voting in the elections. The elections are hacked.

‘The elections are hacked and hackable’ is the one message that the mainstream media is finally talking about, even if I disagree about the particular statements they’re making (‘The Russians’ did it). Yes, it’s all hackable. But they’re not talking about *how* it’s hackable. From what I read, the votes are stored in a plain old Excel spreadsheet on a normal PC which is connected to the internet and wide open for hackers to just walk in and change the numbers on the spreadsheet with a couple keystrokes, and that’s how you hack the election. Don’t worry about all those red herrings and distractions, all that complex and difficult stuff about messing with the voting machines – that may be happening too, but it’s not even necessary. A simple unprotected desktop PC with an Excel spreadsheet, a couple keystrokes of number changes, and the election is hacked. Anyone can do it whether they’re Russian or not.

So… Intentional Communities. We have control, locally, over what is done. Local control. We know our fellow community members. As the community grows too large to know everyone individually, we still have control over how we govern each other long-distance, because we are the ones designing the system.

Diana Leafe Christian used to believe in consensus, and that’s what she put in her books, but now she believes in something called ‘Sociocracy,’ which I am not very familiar with and want to learn more about. But alas, I cannot even read a few words written by Diana Leafe Christian without becoming excessively overexcited and wanting to do a million things at once that I cannot possibly do because I am not a trillionaire yet. I have to wait until my life is a little bit under control – and then, I’ll start looking into things like how to buy land at tax sales, so you can get it cheap. As soon as I start buying land, I can finally think about how to build my own intentional community and design my own government.

This relates to intraterrestrial disclosure (underground breakaway civilizations). Are those civilizations any better than ours? Are they really any different? If so, why? What processes are they using to constantly make themselves good, forever, and keep themselves that way? What processes are causing our society here to be evil? You have to intentionally design a society with good processes in order to keep it protected forever from the corruption that we hate in our society now. Forever is a long time.

I was thinking, with ‘them’ talking to me, about how people are invading the underground cities, with long range ground penetrating radar and energy weapons and earthquake weapons. They are no longer safe from us. We want to kill them merely because they exist and they are outside of our slavery system. We invite them to join the slavery, or die. They need our help. They need us to protect them from this invasion. We want to kill them all and then steal their technology and their books, and use it for ourselves, even though we ourselves don’t have the necessary processes in our society to support such creativity. Our society destroys creation and invention, and steals little bits of it that the elites find useful. If they cooperate with us, then we will make them into slaves. We will infiltrate them and corrupt everything they have built. We will contaminate them with poisons and diseases.

Ongoing social processes are necessary to create the same things they created. We –

I suddenly lost my flow of thought.

I had been watching, or just googling, Diana Leafe Christian on youtube. I had both her books before the contamination disaster. I tried to download one book and put it onto the PC version of the Amazon Kindle. But it doesn’t work properly – the images don’t show properly on the PC version of the Kindle, and it makes me suspicious that maybe they won’t work properly on the real Kindle either. I know they don’t invest the same resources into designing the free PC version of the Kindle, since it’s free, but still, it makes your product look bad if I can’t view images properly on the free version, and can’t enlarge them either. It violates my trust. So I don’t know if I would buy a Kindle just to get those books on it.

I really want to just be decontaminated and then have a location where it’s safe to store physical paper books. Physical paper books are wonderful. They have a smell and a feeling. It’s easy to open them to a random page. No computerized book has a random-page-opening function that resembles anything at all that you do with your hands while holding a book. You can say, ‘I want to go to something about 3/4 of the way through the thickness of this book,’ and open it to that. Does any page-opening function on a computerized book do that? The most you can ever do is a totally 100% random page, which is not like what you do with a paper book. You usually don’t seek a random page. You seek something that was in the general vicinity of the end of the book, or the general vicinity of the middle, or whatever. Nothing even resembles that in computer books. It’s just so much easier to read a paper book, in every way.

I guess I will post this. The point was that when I think about intentional communities, I am simultaneously overexcited, and helpless to do anything. I don’t have the time, energy, money, or resources to even begin such a huge project, but yet, it so exactly matches my values and everything I want from the world.

4 Responses to “Intentional communities again – Diana Leafe Christian”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Just think how cheap real estate will be downriver in the time stream-

  2. Anonymous Says:

    The road to hell is paved with good intentions-

  3. Anonymous Says:

    “store physical paper books”

    I have been re-reading my paper back collection and am remembering you as the “instigator” of my re-addiction to pulp fiction.

    While I have added extensively to my collection over the decades since, it’s origin was a fallen garage as you may recall… I blame you for my falling into readaholism again!!!!!!

    eTa

    PS- Thanks for the pulp by and by tis saved my mind from dystopia!

  4. Nicole Says:

    I clearly remember that. It’s the house on Whitehall Road. The garage was all rotten and there were giant boxes of books in there that you accepted.

Leave a Reply

