The lottery taunts you if you don’t play

I heard a story from one of the dutiful payers of the lottery tax. He routinely plays the same numbers every day. However, he said, there were not one, but two separate incidents where he skipped a day (or an unknown number of days? I don’t know if he skipped it for a couple weeks, or if it really was one day and only one day) and his always-the-same numbers got picked on that day when he didn’t play.

This suggests a sadistic malice behind the controlling of the lottery. It’s not merely telling you to keep playing and never stop otherwise your numbers will come up. To me, it means more than that. It means your numbers will come up ONLY IF you stop playing for a few days. And you’ll get that idea to stop playing probably via electronic mind control…. but I will restrict my anti-lottery arguments to the subject of only lottery-related systems right now.

There is actually overlap between the lottery and the drug companies and mind control. My friend Chris got on Abilify and became a lottery addict. I know from experience that when you’re on drugs, you become susceptible to suggestions given by mind control. But again, the debunking of the lottery needs to focus strictly on more mundane methods of controlling the lottery, specifically by hacking the computers.

Somebody out there *knows* that you are picking the same numbers every day.

This particular lottery that this guy was playing wasn’t one of the one-in-300-million type of chances, it was something where, I’m pretty sure, you have a bigger chance of winning a smaller prize. He should have won by now, is my impression, but it also should be more obvious that he has a net loss and always will.

Somehow, my perception of the net loss changes when I know the prize is huge – assuming that the lottery truly is played fairly, for real, and not controlled or hacked by someone. It should also not be tilted in favor of people doing scams, such as getting free tickets from your buddy behind the counter, while other dutiful slaves actually *pay* their lottery tax every day.

I don’t think it should be done at all, but if the lottery is going to be done, it should be fair, and it should be what it portrays itself to be, and should not be hiding any huge relevant facts that people need to know and would want to know, such as ‘somebody controls which numbers win and which people win and when.’

I can’t rationalize why my perception of the net loss changes when the prize is huge and the chances of winning are tiny. It’s like I know, I will never even be *able* to get a ‘net loss,’ because I associate the ‘net loss’ with having a few small wins. I won’t even be able to get a few small wins. I expect to win absolutely nothing at all, ever, and cannot possibly play the lottery enough times (millions and millions of times) to expect to beat the random chances and win.

I expect to have nothing but loss, except it will be a relatively small loss, and increasing the number of times I play will have relatively little impact, so there’s less temptation to try spending huge amounts of money on it, because the order of magnitude is so large that even if I buy 100 tickets a day, that’s still tiny compared to the huge size of the chances. So I’m less tempted to waste a huge amount of money on it, and more likely to just dutifully slave away, buying maybe a $1 ticket daily. Or $2 or whatever (for powerball – I forget how much it is for which games).

I can almost picture myself doing that – except that I am trying to protect myself by debunking the lottery and convincing myself that it is controlled by someone, and influenced strongly by scams, and not fair. If it isn’t fair, it isn’t worth playing. If it isn’t what it portrays itself to be, it isn’t worth playing.

Leave a Reply

