Honey locust tree pods: edibility rating: excellent so far; got brewed coffee from the roommate; interview went well; chokeberries are just as inedible as they say they are

I say ‘so far’ because they might cause problems later on in the digestion.

Kat’s entire yard is covered with thousands of those gigantic honey locust tree pods. I have seen them for many years and I had researched them before. I had tried a tiny nibble of them in the past, and was curious to try them again, because I can’t help seeing them every day all over the yard when I walk out the door.

(Make sure they’re not the black locust bean pods. Those are smaller, and they come from a plant with larger leaflets.  They say the black locust pods are toxic.  On the other hand, edible honey locust pods are huge, often twisted in corkscrews.)

So, I did my research again, reassured myself that they were okay, and ripped open a couple of them. You can either eat the seeds
themselves, or you can eat the meaty part of the pod. It’s winter, so they are all dried out and brown right now, but according to people on youtube, they’re much better when they’re fresh, and you can eat the pod meat right then. The brown winter pod meat is kind of sticky and gooey and brown, but still edible, although I am slightly distrusting because I haven’t done this before. I tasted it. It has a sweet-sour fruity flavor, and a sour fruit smell. It is quite sweet in comparison to what I would have imagined, nothing like a bean type thing would be expected to taste.

So I only nibbled just a little tiny bit, and did not actually swallow any of the seeds, although I chewed them. I will see what it does later in my digestion, and if I am okay tomorrow, I will nibble on some more of them.

The chokeberry, on the other hand, is as edible as its name would suggest. I walked through the botanical garden at Penn State and looked at native plants. I love the botanical garden, and wish it was larger and wish we had lots more just like it, because they have the plants labeled so you can see their names. I have researched native plants for years but cannot identify very many of them at all. Having a botanical garden with labels helps greatly, and they have a wifi there so I can google them on my phone and read about them
immediately.

So I happened to see the black chokeberry. According to legend, it isn’t outright poisonous, but it’s so astringent that you can’t swallow it. It causes your mouth and throat to tighten up. I don’t know the actual extent to which it actually chokes you, because I didn’t try to chew on an entire berry, and the one I chewed on was a dried out winter berry still on the bush. I didn’t swallow it. I bit into it with my teeth, and spit it back out, and also spit out the saliva.

Just barely putting it into my mouth at all caused me to get the astringent sensation, and some very disturbing and unpleasant sensations of being poisoned. It made me feel weird for a while, but I reassured myself that, according to many different authorities, it wasn’t outright lethally poisonous. I thought I might throw up. Then, later on in the nighttime, I felt weird as it went further through my digestive system, in the early morning, and I was hearing voices who were concerned about me and making sure I didn’t die in my sleep.

I had shooting-water diarrhea this morning.  VERY bad.  I didn’t even swallow any of the chokeberry.  I merely tasted it and spit it out, after it was dried out and hanging on the bush all winter.

I got up and had some leftover Coke, and then some coffee, made in the coffeemaker by the Korean roommate, who had a conversation with me.

She has a cat named Oreo who meows a lot. I suspect Oreo might possibly have urination difficulties. Oreo seems to meow when she / he has to pee. Boy or girl? I don’t know. Oreo also might have peed on the floor last night, which is another sign of difficulties. I suspect she isn’t drinking water, if the roommate really is adding that ‘breath freshener’ chemical to the water, and if the cat doesn’t like to drink it for that reason. There is a bottle of breath freshener that I saw sitting nearby. I read the ingredients. So that might make her reluctant to drink water, which would lead to urinary difficulties.

Anyway so I got brewed coffee this morning.

My job interview went well, I feel. I can’t be certain until I get a call back from them, but I feel optimistic.

I bought a salad at Fiddlehead, a restaurant that I’ve never been in before, and I started obsessing about food afterwards. I want to make salads out of unusual ingredients, like lambs quarters, chicory, amaranth, and other weeds, which I am slowly and gradually learning to recognize, and sheep sorrel. And sheep sorrel roots. All herbs, no matter what they are, if they are fresh, if they are wild growing and organic, if they are alive when you pick them, all of them are healthy for you. I mean, anything that isn’t poisonous, anything that isn’t a chokeberry. There are going to be poisonous things. There is so much I want to learn.

So I will see if I have any weird effects from the honey locust bits that I just barely nibbled on. I don’t feel any unusual sensations right now, which is a very good sign. Poisoning is usually noticeable pretty quickly after eating it. The exception to this rule was purslane. I nibbled purslane and didn’t feel anything unusual, but felt like I nearly died of a heart attack later on in the nighttime when it was absorbed into my large intestine. It contains cardiac glycosides. It felt okay at first when I was eating it, and didn’t cause any unpleasant sensations, and in fact, I felt that it was wonderfully fresh, delicious, and tasty. Too bad it was so dangerous later on. I could try it again someday. According to legend, it has healthy fatty acids in it.

Oh yeah, the web page about chokeberries. It said that since they weren’t poisonous, you could eat them, and it talked about adding them onto ice cream and stuff. My reaction to this is, what the fuck, you fucking sociopathic lunatic, HAVE YOU EVER EVEN TRIED THEM?????? ADDING THEM TO ICE CREAM???? ARE YOU FUCKING MAD???? Seriously! You add them to ice cream and pretend they’re blueberries and give them to somebody you are trying to kill. I don’t know how bad the choking effect is, but what if it actually closes the airway? It could be mechanical poisoning instead of chemical poisoning.

There are other berries that are borderline edible/inedible that I want to locate and find out about. I LOVE SERVICEBERRIES. I am so, so, so happy that I found out how to recognize the serviceberries. Although, strangely, last time I tried to eat them, I found them slightly sickening and I don’t know why. But they are not always. Usually I love them. I also dried them and stored them for a long time and ate them in small amounts for months.

So after getting the salad from Fiddlehead, and feeling simultaneously like it was a really nice delicious salad, but yet, what would I myself do if I were running a similar business – and I fantasized about all sorts of things, about exotic native wild plants, about microgreens, about growing live plants indoors in the restaurant, about growing mosses (I don’t think they’re edible but I just love the texture of them, growing them on the floor so you can walk on them), doing all this indoors with sun pipes bringing real sunlight into the building, and lots of misty water being sprayed on the plants and humidifying the air. Indoors.

I also want to try eating raw seal, but sadly, that is not easy to obtain in my part of the world. Fresh herbs and plants are achievable at the moment. I haven’t forgotten that I want to go to the Arctic and I want to go hunting. I will also try eating insects someday. I became obsessed with food after eating this salad. Kat gave me these ’15 grain healthy snack’ things from Kabuto, a foreign brand. They are little tubes with an inner core, and they are extremely good. They contain palm oil, which is a saturated fat.

I wish I could have saved my mom with healthy foods and alternative medicine. I’m watching a lot of videos about people treating cancer.

3 Responses to “Honey locust tree pods: edibility rating: excellent so far; got brewed coffee from the roommate; interview went well; chokeberries are just as inedible as they say they are”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    http://www.pennlive.com/news/2017/02/transgender_ex-con_behind_botc.html#incart_most-commented_news_article

  2. Nicole Says:

    Castration – it’s just minor surgery, not something you die from! And frighteningly enough, there are probably grains of truth in that. But what universe is she living in where all of this is okay????

  3. Nicole Says:

    I’m going to have to read pennlive more often, although it was a bit depressing. I learned that it’s possible to die if you are stealing bags of donated clothing out of a dropoff box if your stepstool falls out from under you in the middle of the night and nobody sees you hanging there for over an entire day. I also learned that the amber alert, which I assume must be the one with the yellow Ford convertible, which seemed ridiculous to me, because which kind of idiot kidnaps a kid while driving a yellow convertible??? actually turned out to be not kidnapped – the mother forgot to put the car in park, and it rolled away with the kid and went down over a hill. The kid was okay.

Leave a Reply

