Big rant: Olive leaf is advocated as a cure for herpes; Herxheimer reactions are almost always BS and are merely a way to tell you to ignore the side effects directly caused by a drug. Failing to mention a huge, gigantic, extreme, annoying side effect is unethical when mainstream doctors do it, and unethical when alternative medicine web pages do it

I’m putting a link to one example of the type of page that I’m complaining about, but there are actually lots of pages out there talking about olive leaf that are just as guilty of all the things that I’m saying. This is only one page out of many:
http://www.life-saving-naturalcures-and-naturalremedies.com/natural-herpes-cure.html

(I’m adding this in before posting this blog: I wrote ‘this is a quick complaint,’ but it actually turned into a full fledged rant for real.)

This is a quick complaint, not a full length rant. I’m reading about the olive leaf cure-all right now. I’m still quite annoyed by it. They are citing all different kinds of people, specific individuals, specific books, ‘French Scientists,’ ‘thousands of years of
traditional use,’ and so on.

I can say from experience that olive leaf pills are one of the *least harmful* pills that I have taken. Their effects wear off quickly and do not linger all day long. I do recall reading someplace that they will be hard on your kidneys if you take too much.

They’re also talking about giving olive leaf to your pets to cure various diseases and to boost their overall health and prevent flea infestations. They’re even talking about giving it in bulk to your horses. This really is being made into a huge, giant, overhyped cure-all. And on the page that I’m reading, there is ABSOLUTELY NOT ONE SINGLE WORD, NOT ONE TINY PEEP, about the effect that it has on you, the tiny unimportant little side effect of causing you to have orgasms. NOT… ONE… PEEP.

They’re advocating very high doses taken a bunch of times a day. I can barely tolerate taking only two pills, in a single day, with a very long break of a couple weeks in between these episodes, due to the fact that they cause masturbation. They’re saying, take it at these extremely high doses for an entire year. Not one peep about what it will do to you.

It’s coming from a culture of secrecy. Everyone everywhere who is talking about olive leaf is keeping this huge secret. The same is true for olive oil, but it’s only true for FRESH olive oil that comes from REAL olives, not the stale oil we have in the USA, and not the fake oil that is made from vegetable oil and canola oil labeled as olive oil, which is why we are not aware of this phenomenon in the USA. Even so, the people who ought to know, the people who live in olive-producing countries where it’s been known for thousands of years, are still saying very little about it. I found one web page that said there was a sort of old wives tale or saying, ‘Eat olive oil, come at night,’ ‘come’ as in have an orgasm while sleeping. This is exactly what happened to me when I ate fresh olive oil and that was what led to this discovery.

Why aren’t they marketing olive leaf as a sort of ‘male enhancement’ drug or aphrodisiac or female anorgasmia drug?

This may be the reason why Muslim countries in Africa give large amounts of olive oil to the women who have had female circumcision that removes the clitoris. You probably can eat olive oil and have orgasms without a clitoris. I think I read about this when they were explaining why there were all these extremely obese Muslim women in Africa who were so fat they could barely even walk, and explaining why they were doing this – they deliberately fed them huge amounts of olive oil at an extremely early age, or something.

Oh, I forgot – herxhemier reactions. That was the title – I just looked up and saw that again – I was going to complain about that. Anybody who tells you that the side effects you’re experiencing are nothing but ‘herxheimer reactions’ or ‘bacterial die-offs’ are ALMOST CERTAINLY LYING OR MISINFORMED. I have seen associations between people claiming a ‘herxheimer’ reaction, and people who tell you to ignore all of your side effects no matter how bad they are, even if those side effects are directly caused by the drug itself, and not by a ‘herxheimer reaction’ or ‘die off.’ The *explanation of the cause* is done to reassure you that those side effects are harmless and you should ignore them, but ignoring side effects is not a good idea. They tell you that those side effects are unavoidable and that they are a sign that it’s working.

What other sign could you possibly see that something was working? Your symptoms should go away.

Whenever I drank from a stream while visiting West Virginia and I gave myself giardiasis – oh, that was a fun adventure! First vomiting. Then diarrhea that would not go away, every single day, every single time I had a bowel movement, pure water shooting out, depleting me of all my electrolytes, making me feel like I was going to pass out or have a seizure or die. Life-threatening diarrhea that just went on and on and on for days and days and days, until finally, I went to the emergency room, and I got a nice happy little mainstream antibiotic called …. what was it? Something so safe and effective, they sell it over-the-counter without a prescription in Mexico because of all the diarrhea there. I have to google it. Metronidazole – Flagyl.

Wow, I really am sounding like a mainstream medicine advocate. I’m complaining all about an herbal medicine, and talking happily about how wonderful it was when I used a mainstream antibiotic. But that is because I’m not one of the people who goes out and gets antibiotics to treat the common cold, claiming that I have a ‘sinus infection’ or ‘bronchitis,’ both of which are allegedly bacterial, which is the alleged reason why people get these antibiotics for a common cold. I’m not one of the people who overuses antibiotics, and I’m not one of the people who are giving antibiotics to hogs in a factory farm to make them grow big faster so that I can sell them for meat in a short time instead of a long time. I’m not one of the people taking so many antibiotics for such a long time that I kill all the bacteria in my intestines and have to take probiotics to replace them.

I almost never have used any antibiotics at all in my lifetime. It is extremely rare. On the extremely rare occasions that I have used them for anything, they worked for what I was using them for, and the way that I knew they were working was, my symptoms went away. I didn’t have to observe these ‘herxheimer reactions’ and say that all the horrible side effects were caused by nothing but ‘bacterial die-off’ causing the ‘bacterial toxins’ to be absorbed into my body causing rashes and stomach upset. I just assumed that rashes and stomach upset were a direct side effect of the pill itself.

And I noticed my symptoms went away instantly. Instantly. I took ONE FLAGYL for the giardiasis, and the diarrhea instantly stopped forever afterwards.

I’m sure I took the rest of the pills, I guess – I can’t remember. I think I had a few to take, and I took them to be on the safe side. But I remember, my symptoms of horrible diarrhea and total loss of liquid and electrolytes immediately stopped. It was obvious and unmistakable that the drug was WORKING.

These people claiming that you have to take huge doses of olive leaf for an entire year, and then sit there seeing all these side effects, rashes, stomach upset, etc, and claim it’s merely a ‘herxheimer reaction’ because of ‘bacterial die-off’ or ‘viruses being destroyed’ – If it were REALLY WORKING, then you would notice that the ORIGINAL SYMPTOMS WENT AWAY. You would not have to sit there observing the herxheimer reactions and rationalizing to yourself that if you are having this side effect then something good must be happening because you sure don’t see any other signs that anything good is happening, unless you think that constant nonstop orgasms from eating high dose olive leaf is a good thing. I personally think that it’s an annoying thing. It’s even more annoying because I KNOW there are millions of people out there who would THINK it’s a good thing when it isn’t.

The only reason I’m so angry about all this is because I AM ACTUALLY CONSIDERING DOING THIS. I actually want to try some of these alleged natural herpes cures. I just think I would like to find some OTHER method besides olive leaf. The only reason I am paying any attention to the olive leaf cures at all is because I have already used it and I have already seen that it causes few toxic effects and it wears off very quickly, so that in an hour or two, I feel like nothing unusual has happened – unlike ginseng or St. John’s Wort, where the effects will last all day long, and for several days. The effects are so short-lived with olive leaf that it almost seems like it would be safe to use in high doses. I JUST DON’T WANT THAT OTHER EFFECT THAT IT CAUSES TO PLAGUE ME NONSTOP EVERY HOUR OF EVERY DAY FOR AN ENTIRE YEAR. THAT IS ANNOYING.

Well, I know that this was a real rant, because there are lots of capital letters in here.

I guess it’s theoretically possible that the *mechanism by which* a drug causes those side effects really is by means of killing bacteria and then poisoning you with their broken proteins and internal toxins. However, I want proof that that is the mechanism, because the mechanism by which side effects are produced is going to be a complex mechanism and you shouldn’t just ASSUME it’s a herxheimer reaction, just because herxheimer reactions are a reassuring idea that tells you that a drug is working. I suspect that the complex mechanism by which a drug produces its side effects will be very specific, very complex, very unique, and hard for a person to imagine or conceive of merely by guessing or speculating. For example, I would not have guessed that the mechanism by which pawpaw shrinks tumors is by interfering with the ATP of the cancer cells. You can invent some hypothesis for how it works, but the actual mechanism is going to be something really complicated and weird and ‘scientificky sounding.’

I don’t like this new mainstream-medicine-sounding version of myself. But don’t worry, I’ll definitely go back to being an alternative medicine advocate the next time I visit a doctor and have to listen to their total babbling insanity, and/or get utterly betrayed by a doctor who totally fails to warm me about horrible side effects like the time I took Prozac. It’s just annoying when people in the alternative medicine community are doing EXACTLY THE SAME THING! Failing to warn people about huge, annoying side effects is exactly the reason why I hate mainstream doctors! Whenever the alternative medicine web pages are behaving exactly that same way, it makes me hate them too. They are being just as unethical as mainstream doctors.

2 Responses to “Big rant: Olive leaf is advocated as a cure for herpes; Herxheimer reactions are almost always BS and are merely a way to tell you to ignore the side effects directly caused by a drug. Failing to mention a huge, gigantic, extreme, annoying side effect is unethical when mainstream doctors do it, and unethical when alternative medicine web pages do it”

  1. Alice Bennett Says:

    “I can barely tolerate taking only two pills, in a single day, with a very long break of a couple weeks in between these episodes, due to the fact that they cause masturbation.”

    Huh?

  2. Nicole Says:

    Huh what? I don’t feel the need to masturbate in 24-hour long sessions 7 days a week like some people out there want to do. I only need to do it a couple times a month. Try olive leaf and see for yourself. You can buy it even at Walmart now.

Leave a Reply

