My aunt doesn’t need a fucking pacemaker!

Here is how she described it on facebook: (I corrected some caps lock problems – I think she was accidentally hitting the caps lock button on and off while typing)

“I got up, went to the bathroom at 4:00 am. Started back bed, got very, very dizzy. passed out. when i came back was still dizzy and pushed my emergency call button around my neck fro help from Foxdale Emergency Care .They came called an ambulance and everyone started asking if I was on blood thinners? Seems I was in a fIib . Never Aware of it before. and MD said i Needed a pacebmaker to keep from blacking out Again and Falling or having a stroke.”

I’m not sure what she meant by ‘in a flib.’ I also am not clear on whether or not she actually takes blood thinners, and I don’t know what other medications she takes, but I’m pretty sure she takes *something*. A pacemaker is an implanted object that you cannot remove.

This is one of the reasons why I was speculating about why heart problems happen in the winter. THERE ARE ALSO VIRUSES GOING AROUND, and yes, that was supposed to be in caps. Stomach viruses and lots of other viruses can cause people to get extremely dizzy and pass out sometimes, and when that’s going on, your heart may also be having some kind of arrhythmias or something.

This bothers me. I can’t recall what the exact word was, but it was some kind of heart arrhythmia they diagnosed her with. Nobody knows exactly what triggered this event to occur in the short term, so they just assume ‘You’re just old, your heart is going to start constantly having problems forever all the time over and over again, so we’ll give you a permanently implanted object and charge your insurance a huge amount of money.’ It’s this assumption that ‘you’re just gonna have problems again and again forever,’ rather than having some theory that maybe something triggered it in the short term, some kind of factor which is not always present, and so she doesn’t need a permanent pacemaker for something which was just a passing one-time incident.

It’s the *timing* of this that makes me think it was a virus or something. It was right before Christmas, and lots of bad viruses were going around because thousands of people were traveling in and out of town for the holiday. There is a huge amount of traveling and that’s when the stomach flu and everything comes in. I also notice viruses coming with the snowfall, and we had a snowfall shortly before this happened. I think diseases do fall from the sky in
precipitation. I get sick when it rains or snows, even if I am hiding in my tent all day long and I don’t go *anywhere near* another human.

This was just an opportunity to charge the insurance a huge amount of money for something that isn’t necessary, will probably never be used or triggered, and fails to understand what really happened that made her get sick in the first place. They did the same thing to her previous husband Eugene, except I think his was a defibrillator implant.

3 Responses to “My aunt doesn’t need a fucking pacemaker!”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    They did the same thing to her previous husband Eugene, except I think his was a defibrillator implant.

    A Defib imp was what my dad had.

    I would critic the ideology of this phenomena, but it is the only reason I survived my peloric (http://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/pyloric-stenosis/home/ovc-20163855) stenosis.

    spell chuck vetoed peloric so I gave a referral.

    happy nude year!

    eta

  2. Nicole Says:

    Yeah, I’m very surgery-averse but I do agree with you, there are some situations where it just absolutely has to be done to prevent death. I remember now your story about how you were throwing up everything after you were born because of that defect in your stomach.

  3. Nicole Says:

    and happy nude year to you too!

Leave a Reply

