Hard labor in lazyland

As everyone knows, I’m one of those lazy people who don’t ever want to do any work. I’m slow, stupid, and worthless. Or at least that’s how I’m feeling at Maki Yaki.

On my day off, I am dragging and rolling logs. I only dragged three logs, but it’s gonna kill me tomorrow. These were logs from fallen trees around the area, which had been cut out of the way, then left there. I had to drag and roll them through thickets of honeysuckle.

There are large clear areas without underbrush, especially on Woodlot Trail, where I saw a dozen stick shelters already built by someone else, though not finished, as though for demonstration. The trail goes right though them. It’s like a stick house village.

There are also some abandoned concrete blocks that I could take, but not a lot.

I do not build in the open areas because I must hide: I actually intend to live in my stick house. I at least want room for a workshop. I should also explore the giant storm drain with the graffiti on it, with spider-proof clothes on. I haven’t had the guts yet.

I am eating little dabs of fats from these one ounce jars with rosemary extract in them. Rosemary raises my blood pressure, which actually helps conquer my fatigue. That is why I could drag and roll three heavy logs today.

I cannot merely drag logs and sticks through the honeysuckle. I must break all the branches to crawl through there, so I am making new paths. I rolled one log down a hill and tried to roll over some bushes, but when I turned and looked back, it looked like nothing had been done. However, I will try to use that path again, so it will become larger and easier to use.

Imagine fifty years of slavery to pay for a "real" house, or a couple years of hard labor to build one from sticks and already cut logs, while still working at a normal job. I feel it is possible to finish this task in a relatively short time, but I am not even fifty years old yet – imagine buying a house on a thirty year mortgage, which is the better part of all the years of my life. That is how most people get a house. Mine won’t be as big. But I must try.

I at the very least need a workshop, a table where I can make and fix things and keep them out of the rain. I could buy another tarp or something too, but I also need just a foundation to make it flat. I’m on a hillside. So there is a good reason to pile up sticks and logs.

There are thousands of ticks. I get them on me daily, but for some reason, they rarely attach. I feel them crawling and remove them. A friend of mine also mentioned the huge number of ticks this year, so it’s not just me.

Leave a Reply

