Fort Benning’s annoying logo has a lightning bolt in it

175px-MCoE_DUI

Why?  Why do so many military and government agencies have lightning bolts in their symbols?  I should be used to this by now, but it still annoys me every time I encounter one.  I was just googling pictures of Fort Benning so that I could get an idea of where Jesse was going, and I had to see this offensive logo.  I could make fun of those little things that look like lemon slices down in the curves at the bottom.  I guess the lemon slices are there to ward off scurvy on long boat trips.

But the lightning bolt.  Why?  Why lightning?  Why in the position of a sword?  I just don’t even want to go there, I don’t want to have to deal with this.  There are actually several other military-government logos that have lightning bolts in them, I just don’t remember which ones offhand.  There’s no excuse for having a lightning bolt in your symbol, which is visible to everyone openly.  This is offensive to me.

Maybe I should make logos with black lightning bolts to symbolize lightning cancellation.  Derp de der, I just noticed that was black after I posted this.  Still, it’s offensive, and I’m aware that it does NOT symbolize any kind of ‘cancellation.’

2 Responses to “Fort Benning’s annoying logo has a lightning bolt in it”

  1. Silver II Says:

    Lightning bolts are used to imply swift action and lethal action. Lightning strikes without warning (Battlefields are often described in terms of Stormy weather) and are deadly.

  2. Retmeishka Says:

    Well, that actually does make it seem a little bit less sinister. I mean, obviously it’s still about war and killing people, but it doesn’t imply electronic weapons at least.

Leave a comment